Buy the UPPAbaby Aria V2 ($449.99) if you want the lowest carrier weight with a no-base install stated on the listing: UPPAbaby gives 6 lb without canopy and insert, and the carrier is FAA certified. Buy a Nuna PIPA urbn bundle (from $800) if your trip is mostly taxis and rental cars, because the urbn never uses a base. Every carrier width on our listings is over the 16 inches the FAA uses as its airplane-seat guide, so plan your seat with the airline.
Prices update automatically from our store. Weights and widths are each maker's figures from our product pages, with the basis the maker gives, unless a cell names another source. FAA guidance is from the FAA's Flying with Children page, last updated November 2025.
For a trip, two numbers matter more than anything else on an infant seat's spec sheet: what the carrier weighs in your arms at the gate, and whether it installs safely without its base in a taxi, a rental or an airplane seat. Makers do not weigh carriers the same way, so we put the seats we sell on one basis first, then cover baseless installs, what the FAA actually requires, and how to get a seat through the airport alone. For the Nuna PIPA family in depth, with base costs and stage-by-stage limits, see which Nuna car seat to buy.
Travel infant seats on the same basis
The headline weight on most listings is the bare carrier, without the canopy and the infant insert. You will carry it with both, so the second weight row is the one to compare where the maker gives it.
| Carrier without canopy and inserts | With canopy and inserts | Carrier width | No-base install on the listing | FAA certified (listing) | SugarBabies price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UPPAbaby Aria V2 | 6 lb | Not given on our listing | 17 in | Yes, seat belt | Yes (carrier) | $449.99 with base |
| Nuna PIPA Aire | 6 lb (Nuna's US page). Our listing gives 7.8 lb "true weight" | About 7.8 lb (computed: 6 + about 1.8) | 17.5 in | Not stated (belt path for vehicle belt installs) | Yes | $440 with base |
| Nuna PIPA Aire RX | 6.2 lb | About 8.4 lb (computed: 6.2 + about 2.2) | 17.5 in | Yes, seat belt | Yes, with or without the base | $650 with base |
| Nuna PIPA urbn | 7 lb | 9 lb | 17.5 in | Always: built-in rigid latch or seat belt | Yes | In bundles from $800 |
| Nuna PIPA RX | 7.6 lb | 8.6 lb | 17.5 in | Yes, seat belt | Yes | $550 with base |
| Maxi-Cosi Peri 180 | 8 lb (listed as just under 8 lb) | About 9 lb (computed: 8 + about 1) | Not given on our listing | Yes, visible belt paths ("taxi mode") | Not stated on our listing | $499.99 with base |
| Peg Perego Urban Mobility | 9.1 lb (without hood and inserts) | 10.8 lb, listed as "car seat weight" | 17 in | Always: no base needed, built-in LATCH or European belt path | Yes | $349.99, no base |
| UPPAbaby Mesa V3 | 9.9 lb | Not given on our listing | 17 in | Yes, European routing for a carrier-only install | Yes, per UPPAbaby's US product page | $349.99 with base |
Prices update automatically from our store. Weights, widths, install methods and FAA status: each maker, as listed on our product pages, except the PIPA Aire bare weight, which is from Nuna's US product page. "Computed" cells are our arithmetic from the maker's own canopy-and-insert figure. PIPA urbn figures are from our urbn bundle listings. Width is the carrier dimension the maker lists, not a measurement we took.
What the table changes
- The Aria V2 and the PIPA Aire tie on the bare number. Both are 6 lb without canopy and inserts. Nuna gives a canopy-and-insert figure for the Aire, which puts it at about 7.8 lb ready to use. Our Aria V2 listing gives no dressed weight, so we cannot rank the two once the canopy goes back on.
- The Aria V2 costs $100 more than the Mesa V3 and its bare carrier is 3.9 lb lighter (6 lb against 9.9 lb, both without canopy and insert). That is the clearest price-per-pound trade in the table if you fly often.
- The bases differ more than the carriers. UPPAbaby lists the Aria V2 base at 12.6 lb and the Mesa V3 base at 9 lb, and Nuna lists the RELX base that ships with the PIPA RX at 16.8 lb. If you install without the base on the trip, the base can stay home.
- Two seats here never use a base at all: the PIPA urbn and the Peg Perego Urban Mobility. The Mesa V3 has the heaviest bare carrier in the table at 9.9 lb, and the Urban Mobility's 10.8 lb listed car seat weight is the highest single figure, though Peg Perego does not state its basis.
The PIPA lite and PIPA lite RX that some older travel guides recommend are not seats we sell now, so we left them out. The Doona+ ($550) is a different trade: Doona lists it at 17.2 lb because the wheels are built in, so you carry one thing instead of a seat and a stroller. Its listing calls it FAA aircraft approved.
Installing without the base
A baseless install is what lets the same seat ride in a taxi, a rideshare, a grandparent's car or a rental. Every seat in the table except the PIPA Aire states some form of it on our listing. For the Aire, our listing mentions a belt path for vehicle belt installs but does not say "no base," and Nuna's US manual for it both shows a belt install without the base and warns to use the base, so confirm with Nuna before you rely on it on a trip.
NHTSA's advice applies to every one of these installs: read your car seat's manual and your vehicle owner's manual, and if you install with a seat belt, pay close attention to how that vehicle's belt locks (NHTSA car seat guidance). Practice the belt install at home before the trip, with the manual open, so you are not learning it at the curb. Once it is in, NHTSA's test is that the seat should not move more than 1 inch side to side or front to back when pulled at the belt path (NHTSA installation tips).
Flying with an infant seat: what the FAA says
- The label. The FAA says a child restraint must be certified for aircraft and should have "This restraint is certified for use in motor vehicles and aircraft" printed on it. Read the manual too: the FAA says to confirm the seat can be secured properly in an airplane seat, or you may be asked to check it as baggage.
- The ticket. The FAA calls an approved restraint, not your lap, the safest place for a child under 2 on a U.S. airplane, and says buying your child a ticket is the only way to guarantee you can use one.
- Width and window seats. The FAA says a restraint should fit most airplane seats if it is no wider than 16 inches, and that many airlines require it in a window seat and never in an exit row. Every carrier width our listings give is 17 to 17.5 inches by the maker's figures. If an approved seat you bought a ticket for does not fit, the FAA says the airline is responsible for seating it in another seat in the same class.
- The base. The FAA says the restraint goes in according to the manufacturer's instructions. On our listings the FAA certification is stated for the carrier, and only the PIPA Aire RX listing says with or without the base. Plan on the aircraft belt install your manual shows.
Whether a car seat and stroller check at no charge, and whether they count against your bags, is set by each airline. Check your airline's policy when you book.
Getting the seat through the airport
The easiest solo setup is a carrier that clicks onto a light stroller frame: roll to the gate, check the stroller there if your airline allows it, and carry the seat on. Matching brands keeps it simple. Nuna's TRVL LX stroller ($600) connects directly with PIPA series seats with no adapter, per its listing, and Nuna lists it at 14.6 lb without canopy and armbar. The TRVL LX + PIPA urbn bundle ($800) pairs that stroller with the no-base seat. UPPAbaby lists the Aria V2 and Mesa V3 as attaching directly to Vista and Cruz strollers. For any other pairing, our cross-brand compatibility chart shows which adapter, if any, the makers list.
If you check the seat instead, protect it. The UPPAbaby TravelSafe Travel Bag ($119.99) is sized for UPPAbaby's Aria and Mesa seats and bases, and UPPAbaby says registering the seat and bag before you fly enrolls you in its TravelSafe program, which covers damage to that gear during air travel. Read the terms at registration.
Who each travel seat is not for
- Aria V2, not for: anyone who wants the longest-lasting carrier. Its listing caps height at 30 inches, against 32 inches on the Mesa V3, Peri 180 and Urban Mobility listings, and its base is the heavier of the two UPPAbaby bases.
- Mesa V3, not for: the frequent flyer counting pounds. Its 9.9 lb bare carrier is the heaviest in the table on that basis.
- PIPA Aire, not for: trips built around taxis. It is light, but its listing does not state a no-base install, and Nuna's own manual is mixed on it.
- PIPA Aire RX, not for: a weight-only buyer. With canopy and inserts, Nuna's figures put it at about 8.4 lb, close to the PIPA RX at 8.6 lb, for $100 more than the RX.
- PIPA urbn, not for: anyone who wants a seat by itself or a base with a stability leg at home. We sell it only in bundles, it takes no base, and its height limit is 29 inches.
- Peri 180, not for: flyers who need the FAA wording on the listing, since ours does not state it. Buy it for the rotating seat that turns toward the door (our rotating vs standard infant seat guide weighs that feature), and confirm the aircraft label on the seat itself.
- Urban Mobility, not for: carrying through long terminals. Its 10.8 lb listed car seat weight is the highest figure in the table.
Travel infant car seat FAQ
What is the lightest infant car seat we sell for travel?
On the bare-carrier basis, the UPPAbaby Aria V2 and the Nuna PIPA Aire tie at 6 lb without canopy and inserts. The Aria V2 listing also states a seat belt install without the base and FAA certification for the carrier. With canopy and inserts on, Nuna puts the PIPA Aire at about 7.8 lb, and our Aria V2 listing gives no dressed weight.
Can you use an infant car seat on an airplane without the base?
Yes, if the seat is certified for aircraft and its manual shows an aircraft install. The FAA says to install a child restraint according to the manufacturer's instructions. On our listings the FAA certification is stated for the carrier, and only the PIPA Aire RX listing says with or without the base.
Do I have to buy a plane ticket for my baby to use the car seat?
The FAA says buying a ticket for your child is the only way to guarantee you can use a car seat on board. Children under 2 may fly on a lap, but the FAA strongly discourages it and calls an approved restraint in its own seat the safest place.
Will my infant car seat fit in an airplane seat?
The FAA says a restraint should fit most airplane seats if it is no wider than 16 inches. The infant carriers we compared list widths of 17 to 17.5 inches, so ask your airline, reserve a window seat if they require it, and keep the seat out of exit rows. If an approved seat with a purchased ticket does not fit, the FAA says the airline must seat it in another seat in the same class.
Which infant seats install with no base at all?
The Nuna PIPA urbn and the Peg Perego Urban Mobility have no base: the urbn uses its built-in rigid latch or a seat belt, and the Urban Mobility uses built-in LATCH connectors or a European belt path. The Aria V2, PIPA RX, PIPA Aire RX, Peri 180 and Mesa V3 come with a base but list an install without it.
Can I return a car seat?
See our refund and return policy and shipping information for the current terms.
Compare more options in infant car seats.
Educational information only. This guide is for general education. It is not professional, medical, legal, or safety advice, and it does not create any advisory or professional relationship between you and SugarBabies. You are responsible for the safe selection, installation, and use of any car seat.
How a car seat fits and installs depends on your exact vehicle (its model year, trim, and seating configuration) and your exact car seat model. The instructions that came with your car seat and your vehicle owner’s manual always control. If anything in this article ever conflicts with those instructions, or with current guidance from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), follow the manufacturer instructions, your vehicle manual, and NHTSA, not this article.
Our information is compiled from manufacturer specifications, product manuals, and NHTSA guidance that we believe to be reliable, and we provide all of it “as is.” Specifications, model years, and vehicle configurations change, and we do not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or current status of any of it.
To the fullest extent permitted by applicable law, we disclaim all warranties, express or implied, including the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, and SugarBabies and its owners, employees, and affiliates are not liable for any direct, indirect, incidental, or consequential injury, loss, or damage arising from the use of or reliance on this article. Nothing in this disclaimer limits any liability that cannot be limited under Washington law. Some products we mention or link to are sold by SugarBabies, and we may earn money when you buy them.
