SugarBabies Buying Guide article: Which Nuna Car Seat is Best?. Templated brand graphic, no title text.
Buying Guide Updated July 2026

Which Nuna Car Seat Should You Buy? PIPA, RAVA Next, EXEC Next, REVV Maxx and Boosters Compared

Buy the PIPA RX ($550) if you drive most days and want the lowest-priced PIPA we sell with Nuna's RELX base. Buy a PIPA urbn bundle (from $800 with a TRVL LX stroller or FLEX frame) if you ride in taxis or rideshares or switch cars, because it installs without a base using rigid latch connectors built into the seat. After the infant stage, choose the RAVA Next ($580), or the EXEC Next ($720) if you want it to become a booster later.

Prices update automatically from our store. Specs are Nuna's, from our product pages unless a Nuna manual, Nuna's US product page or an older listing is named, with the basis Nuna gives for each number.

The Nuna car seats we sell come in three stages: infant carriers (the PIPA family), convertibles that stay in the car (RAVA Next, EXEC Next, REVV Maxx), and big-kid seats (AACE, LUMN). Most of the confusion sits in the first stage, so that is where we start. Specs come from Nuna's listings on the product pages we sell from, and where we use a Nuna manual, Nuna's US product page or an older listing instead, we name it next to the number. Where Nuna measures two seats differently, we say so instead of lining up numbers that do not match.

PIPA RX vs PIPA Aire RX vs PIPA Aire vs PIPA urbn

All four PIPA seats we sell are rear-facing infant carriers that Nuna says connect with Nuna strollers designed for PIPA series car seats (with an adapter on strollers that need one). The real differences are the base, how the carrier installs without one, and what a second car costs you.

PIPA RX PIPA Aire RX PIPA Aire PIPA urbn
SugarBabies price $550 with RELX base $650 with RELX base $440 with PIPA series base Not sold alone. In bundles from $800
Base in the box RELX RELX PIPA series base None. Rigid latch (pipaFIX) is built into the seat
Carrier weight, Nuna's stated basis 7.6 lb without canopy and inserts. 8.6 lb with them 6.2 lb without canopy and inserts (canopy and inserts about 2.2 lb) 6 lb without canopy and inserts (canopy and inserts about 1.8 lb), per Nuna's US page. Our listing gives 7.8 lb "true weight" 7 lb without canopy and inserts. 9 lb with them
Carrier with canopy and inserts, like for like 8.6 lb (Nuna figure) About 8.4 lb (computed: 6.2 + about 2.2) About 7.8 lb (computed from Nuna's US page: 6 + about 1.8) 9 lb (Nuna figure)
Child limits (seat listing) 4 to 30 lb, 16 to 30 in 4 to 30 lb, 16 to 30 in 4 to 30 lb, 16 to 30 in 4 to 30 lb, 16 to 29 in
Install without a base Yes, with the vehicle seat belt Yes, with the vehicle seat belt Our listing does not say. Nuna’s manual includes a vehicle-belt install without the base, but its warnings also say to use the base. Confirm with Nuna Always baseless: built-in rigid latch or seat belt
FAA certified for aircraft (listing) Yes Yes, with or without the base Yes Yes
Fabric and inserts (listing) Organic jersey micro-knit fabric and insert Micro-knit fabric, Merino wool and TENCEL inserts, plus an extra GOTS organic cotton insert set Micro-knit fabric (insert material not stated) Merino wool and TENCEL inserts
Seat plus a second-car base $750 with the $200 PIPA extra base, or $800 with a $250 RELX extra base $850 with the PIPA extra base, or $900 with the RELX extra base $640 with the PIPA extra base, or $690 with the RELX extra base No second base needed (neither the PIPA series base nor the RELX base fits it)

Prices update automatically from our store. Specs: Nuna, as listed on our product pages, except where a cell names Nuna's US page or manual. "Computed" and second-car totals are our arithmetic from the figures in each cell. Our RELX and PIPA extra-base listings state 4 to 32 lb and up to 32 in, while the PIPA RX, PIPA Aire RX and PIPA Aire listings above say 30 lb and 30 in. One revision of Nuna's PIPA rx manual (IM-000002F) also lists 4 to 32 lb and 32 in or less. Follow the limits printed on your seat's label and in its manual.

Why sites quote the PIPA RX at both 7.6 and 8.5 lb

The 7.6 lb figure is Nuna's bare-carrier weight, without the canopy and inserts. Nuna's product copy gives 8.6 lb with them on, and says those parts weigh about 1 lb. An 8.5 lb figure does not appear on our listing, so it is most likely a rounded version of that dressed weight.

The same trap catches the Aire RX. Its headline 6.2 lb is also a bare-carrier number, but its canopy and inserts add about 2.2 lb. Put the two RELX seats on the same basis and the 1.4 lb gap on paper shrinks to about 0.2 lb. Nuna calls the PIPA Aire the lightest seat in the PIPA lineup. Among the four seats in our table, Nuna's US product page bears that out: the Aire is 6 lb without canopy and inserts and about 7.8 lb with them, the lowest of the four both without and with canopy and inserts, against 6.2 lb and about 8.4 lb for the Aire RX.

What a second car really costs

Every PIPA we sell except the urbn needs a base in each car where you want click-in convenience. Our two extra-base options both fit every PIPA series seat except the urbn, per their listings: the PIPA extra base at $200 and the RELX extra base at $250. That makes the cheapest two-car PIPA RX setup $750, without a stroller. The urbn bundles start at $800 with a stroller or stroller frame included, and need nothing more for a second car.

The urbn has no base at all. It installs with the rigid latch connectors built into the seat, or with a seat belt routed through its own belt path, and Nuna lists it as not compatible with the PIPA series base or the RELX base.

Baseless for Uber, taxis and flights

Nuna lists the PIPA RX and PIPA Aire RX as installable with a vehicle seat belt and no base, and calls both a fit for city living and taxis. The Aire RX listing adds FAA certification with or without the base. The urbn goes further: every install is baseless, and it can use lower anchors through its built-in rigid latch instead of a seat belt.

For the PIPA Aire, our listing mentions a belt path for vehicle belt installations but does not use the "no base" wording Nuna uses for the RX models. Nuna's US manual for the PIPA Aire includes a vehicle-belt install without the base, but its warnings also say the seat must be installed with the base. If baseless rides matter to you, confirm with Nuna before relying on it, or choose the RX, Aire RX or urbn, whose listings state a no-base install. However you install, NHTSA's advice applies: follow your car seat manufacturer's instructions and your vehicle owner's manual, and NHTSA lists inspection stations if you want an install checked.

Where you can buy the urbn

We sell the PIPA urbn only inside bundles. Bundles you can order as of October 2026 include:

Who each PIPA is not for

  • PIPA RX, not for: anyone shopping on the bare-carrier weight. At 7.6 lb without canopy and inserts it is the heavier of the two RELX-base seats we sell on that basis, and its insert is organic jersey rather than the merino blend.
  • PIPA Aire RX, not for: buyers paying the extra $100 mainly to save weight. Dressed with canopy and inserts, Nuna's figures put it about 0.2 lb under the RX. Pay for it if you want the merino and TENCEL inserts and the extra organic cotton insert set.
  • PIPA Aire, not for: anyone who wants the RELX feature list. The PIPA series base, as described on the Aire's listing, does not list the RELX's anti-rebound panel or its on-the-go recline.
  • PIPA urbn, not for: anyone who wants a car seat by itself, since we sell it only in bundles, or anyone who wants a base with a stability leg in the main car. It takes no base (Nuna lists it as incompatible with both the PIPA series and RELX bases), and its height limit is 29 in, an inch under the other three seats' listings.

Is a PIPA worth it over a cheaper infant seat?

A higher price does not buy a higher safety rating, because NHTSA does not currently rate car seats for safety. NHTSA notes that the car seats it rates for ease of use are self-certified by their manufacturers to meet federal safety standards, and that its ease-of-use stars measure ease, not safety. NHTSA also says a seat is most effective when it is correctly installed and the child is correctly secured in it. What the PIPA price buys is a list of features you can check on the listing: the RELX base's steel-reinforced rigid latch, telescoping stability leg and anti-rebound panel, seat belt installs without a base on the RX models, fabrics Nuna sources with no added fire-retardant chemicals, and a carrier that Nuna says connects with Nuna strollers designed for PIPA series car seats. For UPPAbaby Vista and Cruz strollers from 2015 on, we stock Nuna's PIPA adapter at $75. Whether those features are worth the difference is your call, and the table above gives you the numbers to make it.

Nuna convertibles: RAVA Next vs EXEC Next vs REVV Maxx

A convertible stays installed in the car and takes your child from rear-facing to forward-facing. The EXEC Next also becomes a booster, and the REVV Maxx swivels.

RAVA Next EXEC Next REVV Maxx
SugarBabies price $580 $720 $800
Rear-facing 5 to 50 lb (seat belt), 5 to 35 lb (lower anchors), 18 to 49 in 5 to 50 lb (seat belt), 5 to 35 lb (lower anchors), 18 to 49 in 5 to 40 lb (seat belt), 5 to 30 lb (lower anchors), 18 to 43 in
Forward-facing harness 30 to 65 lb (seat belt), 30 to 40 lb (lower anchors), 34 to 49 in 30 to 65 lb (seat belt), 30 to 40 lb (lower anchors), 34 to 49 in 30 to 65 lb (seat belt), 30 to 35 lb (lower anchors), 34 to 49 in
Booster mode No Belt-positioning booster, 40 to 110 lb, 43 to 57 in, 4 years and up No
Rotation No No 360 degrees, one hand, rear- and forward-facing
Seat weight, Nuna's basis 26.5 lb 26.8 lb 30.6 lb without inserts or pads (about 2 lb more with them)
FAA certified (listing) Yes Yes, in harnessed modes Not stated on our listing
Three across (Nuna's claim) Fits 3 across in most mid-sized vehicles Fits 3 across in most mid-sized vehicles Not claimed

Prices update automatically from our store. Specs: Nuna, as listed on our product pages. All three listings state certification to FMVSS No. 213a and 213b.

What changed from the original RAVA and REVV

We compared the current listings with the older listings for the models they replaced, which are still in our own catalog (archived or unpublished).

  • RAVA to RAVA Next: the RAVA Next listing gives 26.5 lb against 27.9 lb for the RAVA, adds FMVSS 213a and 213b certification, and claims 3 across in most mid-sized vehicles rather than most full-sized ones. Limits on older RAVA seats depend on the year the seat was made: Nuna's manual for 2023-and-older RAVA seats gives a 25 lb forward-facing minimum, and its manual for 2024-and-newer RAVA seats gives 30 lb, the same as the RAVA Next. If you own a RAVA, follow the label on your seat.
  • REVV to REVV Maxx: the bigger change. Our archived REVV listing gave rear-facing to 30 lb and 34 in and forward-facing to 40 lb and 43 in. Some revisions of Nuna's REVV manual allow rear-facing to 40 lb, so if you own a REVV, follow the label on your seat. The REVV Maxx lists rear-facing to 40 lb (seat belt) and 43 in, and forward-facing to 65 lb (seat belt) and 49 in. It is also listed heavier: 30.6 lb without inserts and pads, against 29.7 lb for the REVV (basis not stated).

Who each convertible is not for

  • RAVA Next, not for: anyone who wants one seat through the booster years. It stops at forward-facing harness, so a booster is a second purchase later.
  • EXEC Next, not for: families who move the booster between cars often. In booster mode it is still a 26.8 lb seat, against 15.6 lb for the AACE booster. It also costs $140 more than the RAVA Next for the same harness ranges.
  • REVV Maxx, not for: a long, tall child who you plan to keep rear-facing as long as possible. Its rear-facing limits (40 lb, 43 in) are below the RAVA Next and EXEC Next (50 lb, 49 in), it is the heaviest of the three, and it costs $220 more than the RAVA Next. Buy it for the swivel.

NHTSA recommends keeping a child rear-facing until they reach the top height or weight limit allowed by the seat's manufacturer, which is why the rear-facing row matters more than any other line in this table (NHTSA car seat recommendations).

Big kids: AACE vs LUMN, or keep the EXEC Next

AACE LUMN EXEC Next (booster mode)
SugarBabies price $300 $680 $720 (the whole seat)
5-point harness No 30 to 65 lb, 34 to 49 in Yes, in its convertible modes
High-back booster 40 to 110 lb, 43 to 57 in, suggested 4 years and up 40 to 110 lb, 43 to 57 in 40 to 110 lb, 43 to 57 in, 4 years and up
Backless booster 50 to 120 lb, 43 to 60 in, suggested 5 years and up No No
Seat weight, Nuna's basis 15.6 lb 26.2 lb 26.8 lb
FAA certified (listing) Not stated on our listing Harness mode only Harnessed modes only

Prices update automatically from our store. Specs: Nuna, as listed on our product pages. The LUMN listing requires a child to meet both the weight and the height limits for each mode.

Two things fall out of those numbers. First, the LUMN faces forward only. Its harness range (30 to 65 lb, 34 to 49 in) is the same as the seat-belt forward-facing harness range Nuna lists for the RAVA Next, EXEC Next and REVV Maxx, so over the RAVA Next or REVV Maxx it adds range only in booster mode. NHTSA's advice is to keep a child rear-facing until they reach the top height or weight limit of their rear-facing seat, and only then move to a forward-facing seat with a harness and tether (NHTSA car seat recommendations). So the LUMN is not the next seat for a child who still fits their convertible rear-facing. It makes sense once your child has outgrown rear-facing, as a harness-and-booster seat for a second car, or so a younger sibling can take over the convertible. If your child already rides in an EXEC Next, a LUMN adds no extra range, because its booster range matches the EXEC Next's and its harness range matches the EXEC Next's seat-belt forward-facing range. Second, a RAVA Next plus an AACE costs $880, which is $160 more than one EXEC Next. For that $160 you get a booster that weighs 15.6 lb instead of 26.8 lb and a backless mode up to 120 lb and 60 in.

  • AACE, not for: a child under 40 lb, or younger than Nuna's suggested age of 4. It has no harness, so it is only for kids who meet its booster minimums.
  • LUMN, not for: a child who still fits their convertible rear-facing, since the LUMN faces forward only and starts at 30 lb. Also not for a child already in an EXEC Next, since it adds no range over that seat, or anyone who wants a backless mode later. It costs $380 more than the AACE.

Skip the infant seat and start with a convertible?

You can, as long as your newborn meets the convertible's minimums. Nuna lists the RAVA Next, EXEC Next and REVV Maxx from 5 lb and 18 in rear-facing, while the PIPA seats start at 4 lb and 16 in. NHTSA says a child under 1 should always ride rear-facing, and that convertible and all-in-one seats typically have higher rear-facing limits than infant-only seats, so a child can stay rear-facing longer.

The trade is convenience against cost. A convertible stays installed, so there is no carrier to lift out with a sleeping baby and nothing to click onto a stroller. Going PIPA RX first and RAVA Next second costs $1,130, against $580 for the RAVA Next alone, so the infant stage adds $550 for the carry-and-click setup. Starting with an EXEC Next from day one is $720 for a seat Nuna rates from 5 lb to 110 lb.

Nuna car seat FAQ

Which Nuna car seat is best for a newborn?

If you drive to most places, choose the PIPA RX with its RELX base: it starts at 4 lb and 16 in and is the lowest-priced PIPA we sell with the RELX base, at $550. If you rely on taxis or rideshares, a PIPA urbn bundle avoids a base entirely. The RAVA Next, EXEC Next and REVV Maxx also start rear-facing at 5 lb and 18 in.

Can a Nuna PIPA be installed without the base in an Uber or taxi?

Nuna lists the PIPA RX and PIPA Aire RX as installable with a vehicle seat belt and no base. The PIPA urbn is always installed without a base, using its built-in rigid latch or a seat belt. Our PIPA Aire listing does not state a no-base install. Nuna's manual for it includes a vehicle-belt install without the base but also says to install it with the base, so confirm with Nuna before relying on it.

Why is the PIPA RX listed at 7.6 lb on some sites and 8.5 lb on others?

Nuna gives 7.6 lb for the carrier without the canopy and inserts, and 8.6 lb with them. Higher figures you see elsewhere are most likely the dressed weight. Compare seats on the same basis: dressed, the PIPA Aire RX is about 8.4 lb.

Does the RELX base work with every PIPA?

It fits every PIPA series seat except the PIPA urbn, per its listing. The PIPA extra base has the same exclusion. The urbn does not use a base.

What changed from the RAVA to the RAVA Next?

The RAVA Next listing gives 26.5 lb against 27.9 lb for the RAVA, adds FMVSS 213a and 213b certification, and claims 3 across in most mid-sized vehicles rather than most full-sized ones. Older RAVA limits depend on the year the seat was made: Nuna's manual for 2023-and-older RAVA seats gives a 25 lb forward-facing minimum, and its manual for 2024-and-newer seats gives 30 lb, the same as the RAVA Next. If you own a RAVA, follow the label on your seat.

Should I buy the EXEC Next or the LUMN?

If your child is in an EXEC Next already, keep it: the LUMN's booster range is the same, and its harness range matches the EXEC Next's forward-facing range with the seat belt. The LUMN faces forward only, from 30 lb and 34 in, so it is not the next seat for a child who still fits a convertible rear-facing. NHTSA advises keeping a child rear-facing to the seat's top limit, then moving to a forward-facing harness. Against the RAVA Next and REVV Maxx, the LUMN's harness range is again the same as their seat-belt forward-facing range, so over those seats it adds range only in booster mode.

Can I return a car seat?

See our refund and return policy and shipping information for the current terms.

Ready to compare the full range? Shop Nuna, or browse infant car seats, convertible car seats and booster car seats.

Tagged: Our Favorites
In-store service

Not sure it'll fit your car? Bring the car, we'll check.

When you buy your car seat with us, our certified CPST helps you install it and check the fit in your vehicle at our Sumner, WA showroom.

Visit our showroom